Its it is not it’s


Hi folks, I am back.

No, I am not dead. No, I am not ill and unfortuntly I am not rich, spending
my time with a beautiful blond and young woman. I just was busy working a lot. But I’m glad to be here again.

Today I will talk about it’s vs. its. Do you know the difference? It is simple, but these two words are very often confused. A common mistake is when somebody uses “it’s” instead of “its”.

So here it is the golden rule:

It’s is a contraction for it is or it has.

Its is a possessive pronoun, just like my or your.

Examples

IT´S

  • It’s been good to know you. Contraction: it has
  • It’s a bird! It’s a plane! Contraction: it is
  • When you go abroad, it’s a good idea to take a guidebook with you.
    (… it is a good idea…)
  • Don’t worry, it’s been like this for a long time.
    (… it has been like this…)
  • Are you telling me that it’s my fault?
    (… it is my fault?)
  • The box was hidden in an attic during the war and it’s been there until today.
    (… it has been there…)

ITS

  • The car was badly damaged but its driver escaped unhurt.
  • The dog went back to its house.
  • The house and its garden are a popular tourist attraction.
  • The dodo bird is known for its inability to fly. Possessive pronoun: its inability = the dodo bird’s inability

Well my friends, I hope that you got the idea of it’s and its.

Good Bye.

Deixe uma resposta

