Lets go or Let´s go


Hello my friends, how have you been? Today we will talk about the difference between let´s and lets.

a) Lets go to cinema

or

b) Let´s go to cinema

Do you know which one is it correct? If your answer was letter B, very good you are correct. But do you know the difference?

Golden tip.

“Lets” is a verb form of “to let,” meaning to allow or permit.

“Let’s” is a contraction of “let+us.”

Examples

  • The new Yellow Diet lets you eat anything you want, as long as it’s yellow. Tonight for dinner I’m having Funyuns and Twinkies!
  • Andy’s mother only lets him watch TV after his homework is finished.
  • Let’s go to the movies this weekend. I want to see the sappy one that’s up for an Oscar. (Let us go to the movies.)
  • He grumbled, “Let’s hope the baseball game doesn’t get rained out again tomorrow.” (Let us hope.)
  • My mom lets me use her car if I fill the tank.
  • Let’s go to the mall.

Simple, right? Yes it is simple. Remember to read a lot and talk a lot.

Good bye.

Um comentário sobre “Lets go or Let´s go

  1. Hi Waldir,how are you?long time no see🙂

    wel I dont need to say that your blog is good🙂

    But today I wanna invite you to Immerssion day that is going to happen next 07 agost

    who is organizeing is Facinter Idiomas, I m student there remember?

    You can tell people no problem , the price is R$ 30,00, but the people need to say that I m student,so
    they can go🙂

    I hope you undestand me lol lol lol

    see you

    Curtir

Deixe uma resposta

